District TT C’ship concludes

Table Tennis players posing along with trophies at Rajouri on Tuesday.
Table Tennis players posing along with trophies at Rajouri on Tuesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
RAJOURI, Feb 27: Two days long District Open Table Tennis Championship organised by District Association in collaboration with J&K Sports Council concluded at Indoor Sports Stadium, here today.
Senior BJP leader Gh. Mustafa was the chief guest on the occasion whereas Anand Kumar was the guest of honour and Mohd Javid Ex-councillor was special guest. Chief Guest appreciated the young talent of the district. He said that the District Table Tennis Association is working continuously to uplift the talent of youngsters and their only motive behind organising the tournament is to channelize the energy of youngsters into positive directions. Around 42 participants from every nook and corner of the district participated in this championship.
In the final match of sub-junior girls, Sonali Sharma trounced Nahida Khan by 3-0, while in junior girls, Rani beat Priya Raina by 3-0 and in sub junior boys, Saqib Ahmed got the better of Husnain by 3-1.
In junior boys, Sachin Sharma beat Anjum Khan by 3-1 and in senior men category; Sahil Sharma defeated Raj Singh by 3-1. B.A Bakshi (president) Khan (secretary) was present during the event.
The matches were officiated by Ibrar Ahmed and Rikit Mahajan while in the end; prizes were distributed among winners, runner-ups and officials of the championship.