DDC inaugurates Kathua District JKCA Premier Cricket C’ship

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
KATHUA, June 1: District Development Commissioner (DDC) Kathua, Rohit Khajuria inaugurated Kathua District JKCA Premier Cricket Championship in an impressive and well attended function at Sports Stadium, here today.
Mr Khajuria declared the Championship open as chief guest in the presence of Jang Bahadhur Singh Jamwal, Committee Member, J&K Cricket Association, Shreedhar, Senior Superintendent of Police and Nasir Khan, Additional SP, Kathua as the guests of honour. The function was organized by Gurpinder Singh, Coordinator, Kathua District Tournament Organizing Committee & its Executive members nominated by J&K Cricket Association.
24 teams are participating in this tournament on the knockout basis as per the pattern already adopted in other ongoing district tournaments in the State.
The objective of the tournament is to provide opportunity to the participating players to showcase their talent and reserve berth as probable for JKCA under the patronage of JKCA Administrators-Justice CK Prasad, retired Judge of the Supreme Court and Justice Syed Rafat Alam, retired Chief Justice of MP and Allahabad High Courts & Chief Executive Officer, JKCA Ashiq Hussain Bukhari, retired DIG.
JKCA has taken the initiative to connect and engage the youth by medium of cricketing activities via promoting the cricket at district level and the tournament is open for affiliated, non-affiliated clubs and the teams from far flung areas of the districts.
In the inaugural tie Youngster Cricket Club defeated Mahaveer Cricket Club by a big margin of 78 runs. Winning the toss and batting first,   Youngster Cricket Club scored 205 runs in the stipulated 30 overs, losing 8 wickets in the process.   Rajjan top scored with unbeaten 65 runs off     48 balls, studded with 8 boundaries, while Rohit and Akshey claimed 1 wicket each. For Mahaveer Club, Sidharth claimed 3 wickets, while Anuj took 2 wickets.
Mahaveer Cricket Club, in reply, bundled out for 127 runs in 24.1 overs, thus lost the match by a big margin of 78 runs. Sidharth top scored with 28 runs while Danish contributed 19 runs to the total. Raj Kumar    was the wrecker-in-chief for    Youngster Cricket Club, who took 5 important wickets by conceding 31 runs in his 6 overs, while Pankaj, Aamir, Karan Aashu and Sanchit took 1 wicket each.
Prominent among others present on the inaugural ceremony were Surinder Singh Bagal, former India A cricketer, Sham Mehta, Joginder Ji, Mr Chiber, Ravinder Salathia, Rakesh Singh Sumbria, Parshant Singh, Sandeep Sharma and Jatinder Singh, besides members of Tournament Organizing Committee, Kathua, Harsh Andotra, Rishi Kumar and Pankaj Sharma.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here