Cricketing extravaganza ‘Police-Public Cricket Premier League’ in Apr

*Top 3 teams to receive Rs 19.32 lakh as cash prize
Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Mar 10: Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG), Jammu-Samba-Kathua Range, Shakeel Ahmed Beig, under the directions of  K Rajendra, DGP J&K, through a statement issued here has informed that Jammu and Kashmir Police will conduct “Police Public Cricket Premier League” analogous to Indian Premier League (IPL) for the cricketers of Jammu and Kashmir in the month of April, 2015 at Jammu.
The mega event will be organized with an objective to promote sports culture in the State and provide platform to the cricketers of the State to exhibit their hidden talent and help them to feel the aroma of IPL at home.
The national cricketers and the cricketers of Colleges and University from the districts of   Srinagar, Ladakh, Doda, Kishtwar, Reasi, Bhaderwah, Poonch, Rajouri, Kathua, Samba, Udhampur and Jammu will take part in this Premier League.
The 11 corporate companies will be the owners and sponsors of the team and each team will be composed of 16 players which include Ranji Players, former Ranji Players, Under-19 and Under-25 players, besides University players, College players and the local players.
The statement said that the trials for selection of the interested cricketers will be conducted at all these districts and 192 cricketers will be selected for this League and after the selection auction of these cricketers will be conducted at Police Auditorium Jammu for the formation of the teams in presence of all the selected players.
The tournament will be organized under the overall supervision and chairmanship of Director General of Police, J&K, K Rajendra Kumar and a total amount of Rs 19.32 lakh will be awarded as cash prize in this tournament which includes Rs 5 lakh for winner team, 3 lakh for runners-up team, 2 lakh for third place and 1.5 lakh for the winner of 4th place.
The statement added that winner of each match will receive Rs 10,000, while man of the series will be awarded Rs 50,000 as cash prize alongwith trophies and mementoes , besides best batsman (Rs 25,000), best bowler (Rs 25,000), most sixes in a match (Rs 2,000), man of the match (Rs 3,000) and the winner of best catch award (Rs.1000).
The organizers will be providing the colour uniforms and other cricketing gear including Pads, Gloves and Helmets to the participating teams.
The League will be organized in collaboration with the Vishal Cricket Club, a reputed club of Jammu, which has the distinction of producing galaxy of Ranji Trophy cricketers.
The Police Headquarters J&K Jammu in this regard constituted different committees for the smooth conduct of this Premier League.
The Executive Board of the League includes DGP J&K, (Chairman); ADGP (Hqr) Vice Chairman; Board of Directors includes IGPs Hqrs, IGP Jammu, IGP Technical, IGP Vigilance, DIG Jammu, General Secretary OPS and AIG (Welfare)  C.E.O.
The Executive Members include SSP Jammu, SSP PCR, SSP Crime, SSP Traffic, Principal PTS Kathua, DDP RPHQ, DySP Jameel, DySP GOs Mess, DySP Shahid Pervez, Hilal Ahmad Rather (Sr. Cricketer), Sanjay Mahajan (Sr Cricketer), former Ranji trophy players Ashwani Gupta, Surinder Singh Bagal and Vivek Sharma and senior cricketers R P Singh,   Vinay Gupta and Satwant Singh.
Rajesh Gill, Chief Prosecuting Officer is the organizing secretary, while Rajesh Dhar, Rakesh Koul and Sunil Sambyal are the joint secretaries of the League.
The technical / Officiating Committee includes Sudhir Singh, Harbinder Singh, J D Singh, Sadiq Hussain, Saleem-Ur-Rehman, Sandeep Manchanda, Suhail Yousuf, Vinod Kandayara and Yogesh Sharma.
The General Secretary Operations, Mr Beig also informed that the special boarding and lodging arrangements will be made for the teams from Srinagar and invited the Corporates/Sponsors for the ownership of teams to be part of this mega event.
Meanwhile, Mr Gill, organizing secretary of the League has invited the owners desirous to take part in the League to get themselves registered by or before March 17, 2015.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here