UT level Gymnastics C’ship inaugurated

Gymnast posing with dignitaries during opening ceremony at MA Stadium on Sunday.
Gymnast posing with dignitaries during opening ceremony at MA Stadium on Sunday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Mar 18: J&K UT level Gymnastics Championship was inaugurated at Gymnastics Academy MA Stadium by Rajesh Gupta, Chairman Tourism Federation Jammu as chief guest, here today.
The guests of honour were Sheikh Shakeel, Ranjit Kalra, Gagandeep Singh, coordinator Khalsa Aid,  Prem Sharma and Varinder Kour while Prof. Ashutosh Sharma and members of the Gymnastics Association were also present.
A total of 250 gymnasts from different districts are taking part in this championship, which is being conducted in aerobics, artistic & rhythmic for boys and girls in all age groups. The competitions of mini age groups, sub juniors & juniors in artistic & rhythmic gymnastics were held today.
The championship started with Saraswati Vandana by a seven year girls gymnast who is also taking part in this championships and was followed by highly skilled demonstration by the gymnasts.
In the welcome speech, Association president Kiran Wattal appreciated the role of LG Administration and Secretary Sports Council for promoting sports. He said during recently held National and Khelo India Youth Games, the role of the Secretary Sports Council was applauded by budding gymnasts and the Association.
With the efforts of Krupali Singh, Arjuna Awardee and Secretary Nuzhat Gul two young gymnasts were selected for international advance training being conducted in Russia for the preparation of forthcoming Junior World RG Championships, he said.
Sheikh Shakeel appreciated the role of Association and blessed the gymnasts with a quote that they should give their maximum with a target to take part in Olympics, while Ranjit Kalra appreciated the role of LG Administration specially Secretary Sports Council who has taken very best steps for the upliftment of sports and improvement of the infrastructure.
The vote of thanks was delivered by Ravinder Singh, gen. secretary of the Association.