Prez confers Nari Shakti awards on Women’s Day

NEW DELHI: President Ram Nath Kovind presented the Nari Shakti Puraskar to 44 women, including an acid attack survivor and India’s first woman marine pilot on Friday.

The awards were given at a special ceremony organised at the Rastrapati Bhawan in the presence of Women and Child Development Minister Maneka Gandhi.

To acknowledge women’s achievements, the Ministry of Women and Child Development confers Nari Shakti Puraskar on women and institutions in recognition of their relentless service towards the cause of women empowerment and social welfare.

The 44 awardees include DRDO scientist Ipsita Biswas, India’s first woman marine pilot Reshma Nilofer Naha, expert on subjects of agro-biodiversity Rahibai Soma Popere, acid attack survivor Pragya Prasun, woman commando trainer Seema Rao and motivational speaker Sister Shivani, among others.

The Nari Shakti Puraskar, the highest civilian honour for women, has also been awarded to a One Stop Centre (OSC), Lucknow, Qasab-Kutch Craftswomen Producer and Social Welfare and Nuritious Meal Programme Department of Tamil Nadu. (AGENCIES)