Neeraj Rohmetra gets State Award

Excelsior Correspondent
page1-7JAMMU, Jan 25: Neeraj Rohmetra, Executive Editor, Daily Excelsior was today awarded prestigious State Award for Outstanding Media Persons on the eve of Republic Day by the State Government.
The Award carries a cash price of Rs 51,000, gold medal and a citation.
The State Government announced the Awards tonight.
Neeraj Rohmetra, a Post Graduate in Business Administration from Lancaster University, England and Diploma in Journalism and News-Writing from London School of Journalism, has distinguished career of 20 years in journalism, having done a series of breaking news stories. He has been writing articles for many newspapers across the globe.
He has interviewed several top political and other personalities of the country.
Neeraj Rohmetra had recently attended Economic Editors Conference-2016 and several other such events across the country and abroad.
He has served as members of various Committees including Best Legislator Award Committee of Legislative Council, State Press Accreditation Committee and Advisory Committee of Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council.
Other journalists given State Award for Outstanding Media Persons today included Manoj Koul, ETV, Tahir Mohi-ud-Din, Chattan newspaper and Zafar Chowdhary, Editor, News Now.
The State Award for Bravery was given to Rakesh Kumar, Head Assistant, GAD while the State Award for Achievements in the Field of Literature was bestowed on GN Aatish (Kashmiri Writer/Poet), Dr Nirmal Kumar Gupta alias Nirmal Vinod (Writer) and Balraj Bakshi (Writer/Poet).
The Award for Performing Arts has been presented to Mipham Otsal (Theatre), Jeevan Sharma (Singer), Mehmeet Syed (Singer) and Dhananjay Koul (Singer), while the Award for Excellence in Arts and Crafts was given to Mohammad Maqbool Jan (Papier Mache), Award for Social Reforms and Empowerment has been awarded to Sabbah Haji, Director, Haji Jai Public School, Breswana Doda and Award for Meritorious Public Service has been given to Dr Mandeep Kumar Bhandari, Commissioner Secretary, Health and Medical Education, Dr S Natrajan, Eye Specialist (Aditya Jyot Eye Hospital Private Limited, Mumbai) and Dr Tariq Qureshi, Opthalmologist, GMC Srinagar.
The Award for Lifetime Achievement has been given to Saleem Beg, Convener, INTACH, J&K, while the Award for Outstanding Sportsperson has been given to Surya Bhanu Singh (Wushu), Tajamul Islam (Kich Boxing), Hashim Mansoor (Karate), Akbar Khan (Climbing), Ishfaq Hussain Kand (Kayaking & Canoeing), Meenal Gupta (Chess), Nipu Jamwal (Judo), Tsering Angmo (Mountaineering), Tashi Laskit (Mountaineering), Rigzin Dolkar (Mountaineering) and Stanzin Laskit (Mountaineering).
The Award for Outstanding Environmentalist has been bestowed on Sonam Wangchuk (Ice Stupa), Leh, while the Award for Outstanding Industrial Entrepreneurship was given to Zia Ashai, M/s Supertherm, IE, Shalteng (Manufacturer of Kerosene and Gas Bukhari)