Mughal Road tunnel proposal need to be cleared: Rafiq Khan

Senior PDP leader, Rafiq Hussain Khan interacting with people at Sangiote in Mendhar on Friday.
Senior PDP leader, Rafiq Hussain Khan interacting with people at Sangiote in Mendhar on Friday.

Excelsior Correspondent
POONCH, May 10: Former minister and senior PDP leader, Sardar Rafiq Hussain Khan has said that Mughal Road tunnel proposal needed to be cleared without any more delay so that it could be made operational throughout the year.
Interacting with the people in Sangiote area of Mendhar today PDP leader demanded that Mughal Road tunnel project should be cleared at the earliest so that this road could be made operation round the year. He said that due to closure of road during winter months, the people are left to suffer. The work on this project be expedited and the Governor’s Administration should take note of it.
Rafiq Khan lambasted District Administration Poonch for showing irresponsible attitude towards public demands of the area, specially with regard to condition of roads. He said road connecting to the village from National Highway to Sangiote Gali is in worst condition which has made life of residents miserable. The road of having length 3 km has not been blacktopped for the last many years by R&B. Primary Health Centre which he started during his tenure as MLA left in that position.
Several political workers of National Conference joined the Peoples Democratic Party during a meeting at Sangiote. While welcoming the new entrants in the Party fold, Rafiq Khan further stated that PDP is people’s movement and believe in public development with dignity and respect as late Mufti Mohd Sayeed done with Pir Panjal region.
Khan made an appeal to Governor Satya Pal Malik to intervene in to the matter of security checking process at Mughal road due to which commuters and travellers are made to wait for hours in a long queue.
He was accompanied by Ex -Sarpanch Haji Munshi, Retired Naib Tehsildar Mohd Fani, Ex- Sarpanch Munshi Khan, Sarpanch Waseem Khan , Safeer Hussain Shah, Kurshad Shah, Choudhary Faiz Mohd, Kafeel khan, Mustaq Khan and others.