MLA inaugurates Udhampur District Open Amateur Kabaddi Tournament

Kabaddi players posing along with dignitaries and officials at Udhampur.
Kabaddi players posing along with dignitaries and officials at Udhampur.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

UDHAMPUR, Feb 9: In order to promote Kabaddi in District Udhampur and to channelize energy of youth in right direction, Udhampur District Amateur Kabaddi Association, under the banner of J&K Amateur Kaba-ddi Association has organized a Kabaddi Tourn-ament, which got underway at Mini Stadium, here today.
Over 20 teams from various government, private institutions & Clubs of Udhampur Districts are participating in the Tourn-ament.
Pawan Kumar Gupta, MLA Udhampur was the chief guest, while Ravinder Kumar, Deputy Commissioner, Udhampur was the guest of honour and Rayees Mohd Bhat, Sr Superintendent of Police, Udhampur was the special guest at the opening ceremony of the Championship.
In the matches played in Pool A on day-1 today, KV No-1  beat HSS Barmeen by 10-9, Happy Model Higher Secondary School drubbed Udhampur Club by 25-10 and Moud got the better of BBSV Peeth School by 24-13,, while in Pool B, DCC outplayed Barta Club by 19-9, HSS Garhi beat Jaganoo by 27-13, and Ramnagar Club defeated Dhanoo Club by 19-13.
K V 1 School, Happy Model Higher Secondary School, Chenani Club and Khoon Club qualified from Pool A and DCC, Garhi Club, Ramanagar Club and HSS Boys have entered the quarterfinals of the tournament from Pool B.
Earlier, Sheikh Tanveer, chief organizer presented welcome address and assured the guests and the participants that such events will be organized on regular basis.
The ceremony was also attended by ASP, Faizal Qureshi, Himmat Singh, DSP DAR Udhampur, Sanjeev Gupta, SHO Udhampur, Sudesh Kumar, DYSSO Udhampur, Balant Singh, Naib Tehsildar Udham-pur, Santosh Kumari, ZPEO Udhampur, Ram Lal Badyal, ZPEO Jib  and other prominent citizens of society including Ravi Basanti, Pammy Chopra, Bhushan Sethi and Ram Prashotam,
The members of the Tournament committee included Suresh Khajuria, Vivek Bhard-waj, Vikram Gulati, Tariq Shah, Farooq Ahmad, Rajesh Jaswal, Amardeep Singh and Anil Verma, under the overall supervision of Anil Gupta, President, J&K Amateur Kabaddi Association.
The matches were officiated by Sanjay Sharma, Naveen Sharma, Kuldeep Sharma, Ramesh Sharma, Pushp Sharma, Bikram Singh and Rakesh Khajuria (all officials from DYSS Udhampur).