Milchar Club begins in style, Sai CC emerges pool topper in KPPL

Man of the match being presented to winner during KPPL at MA Stadium Jammu.
Man of the match being presented to winner during KPPL at MA Stadium Jammu.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 23: Strong Delhi based Milchar Cricket Club began their campaign in style, while formidable Sai Cricket Club remained undefeated in the league phase and emerged as the topper of their pool (group) in the ongoing Kashmiri Pandit Premier League (KPPL), being organised under the banner of Iqwaat Sports Organisation, an initiative of Vishva Kashmiri Samaj at MA Stadium, here.
Earlier, in the first match, the Delhi based Milhaar Cricket Club thrashed Bharat Cricket Club by 9 wickets in their first match of the tournament and began their campaign in style.
Batting first, Bharat Cricket Club (BCC) scored a meagre total of 80 runs in the allotted 20 overs by losing 8 wickets. Rohan Punjabi top scored with 20 runs, while Vinod Raina and Sandeep Dhar contributed 17 and 15 runs respectively. For Milchar Cricket Club, Mukul Rawal was the pick of the bowlers, who captured three important wickets.
In reply, Milchar Cricket Club rode on power-packed batting display by Akash Raina and chased the target in just 10.3 overs by losing single wicket and won the match by 9 wickets. Akash scored 41 runs while Ishan Dhar contributed 28 runs. Rakesh was the only successful bowler from Bharat Cricket Club, who claimed one wicket. Mukul Rawal was adjudged as the man of the match for his superb bowling display.
In another match, Sai Cricket Club drubbed RSCC by a big margin of 52 runs to script their 3rd consecutive win and emerged as the topper of their pool.
Batting first, Sai Cricket Club scored a fighting total of 106 runs in the stipulated 20 overs by losing 7 wickets. Chander Mohan top scored with 51 runs while Surinder Bhat contributed 19 runs. For RSCC, Dileep Bhan took three wickets and King Ji claimed two wickets while Ravi Bindroo and Sunny Bhan claimed one wicket each.
In reply, RSCC bundled out for paltry 54 runs, thus lost the match by 52 runs. Vishu top scored with 27 runs while Sunny Bhan contributed 16 runs to the total. For Sai Cricket Club, Rahul Bhat took three wickets, while Sahil Raina claimed two wickets. Rahul Bhat was adjudged as the man of the match.
The matches were officiated by BK Tickoo, Sanjay Raina and Vijay Raina, while the tournament is being organised by Rajesh Dhar, Ashish Kachroo and Ankur Bagati.