LAHDC to constitute panel on Natural Energy

Excelsior Correspondent
LEH, Nov 21: Chairman/Chief Executive Counicllor LAHDC Leh Advocate Tashi Gyalson today convened a meeting of Deputy Chairman, all the Executive Councillors and Councillors of LAHDC, Leh here with Kunzes Dolma India’s only Geothermal Consultant to discuss and deliberate on constituting a committee on Natural Energy including Geothermal energy for Leh district.
CEC Gyalson addressing the meeting said that Ladakh has a rich endowment of resources in the form of solar, hydro and geothermal and to make judicious and controlled use of this clean and sustainable energy in future we need an integrated effort to make the best use of the existing resources.
He said that to save and ensure proper use of geothermal repository of Leh district, LAHDC, Leh has already issued clear direction to the revenue dept Leh for demarcation of hot spring areas of Leh district to stop illegal encroachment of such potential areas.
After fruitful discussion on all the aspects of geothermal energy with constructive suggestions and feedbacks including constitution of committee on natural energy and drafting of LAHDC Leh’s policy on natural energy, demonstration projects on geothermal like binary power plant, cold storage, greenhouse, promotion and development of geothermal tourism, integration of ground source heat pumps in building regulations  in the district, spreading knowledge about the utilization of geothermal energy in educational institutions of Ladakh,  the meeting unanimously decided to constitute a Committee on Natural Energy followed by drafting of LAHDC, Leh’s policy on natural energy under the guidance of Ms. Kunzes Dolma Geothermal Consultant and other experts soon.
Earlier, Kunzes Dolma gave a detailed powerpoint presentation about the prospects, scope and potential of geothermal energy.
The meeting was attended by Deputy Chairman Tsering Angchuk, Executive Councillor for Animal and Sheep Tashi Namgyal Yakzee, Executive Councillor for Minority Affairs and Forest Ghulam Mehdi, Executive Councillor for Agriculture Stanzin Chosphel, Leader of opposition Councillor Lower Leh Tsering Namgyal, Councillor Chushul Konchok Stanzin, Counicllor Panamik Tsering Sandup, Councillor Skyu-Markha Sonam Norboo,  etc.