Karnataka, Arunachal, Meghalaya reimpose partial lockdowns

NEW DELHI: A number of states on Saturday reimposed or extended lockdowns in several areas, including in Bengaluru, as part of cluster containment plans in the wake of alarming rise in coronavirus cases with the duration of one of these restrictions as brief as two days.

Karnataka, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya were among some states that announced area-wise lockdowns for varying periods.

Shops and business establishments, other than those dealing with essential services, remained closed. People have been advised to stay at home and not venture out unless it was absolutely necessary. (AGENCIES)