India, New Zealand battle for points table supremacy

NOTTINGHAM: Both India and New Zealand, who have won all of their games
at the ICC Men’s World Cup 2019 so far, will look to maintain ascendancy as they take
on each other at Trent Bridge on Thursday.
Team India put up a clinical performance against Australia, registering a 36-run win, but
Shikhar Dhawan’s thumb injury has given them a major jolt ahead of their next few
KL Rahul, who had been slotted to bat at no.4 up until now, is likely to open the innings
with Rohit Sharma. He will face a tough challenge first up against a potent New Zealand
pace attack.
While wrist-spinners have provided breakthroughs at crucial junctures in both the
games so far, it will be interesting to see if Virat Kohli goes in with the same
combination on Thursday, considering the short boundaries and overcast conditions
on offer at Trent Bridge.
New Zealand are currently leading the points table with three wins from as many
games. With Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry leading the bowling charts with 15
wickets between them in the tournament so far, and with Jimmy Neesham and
Colin de Grandhomme providing able support, Kane Williamson has enough
bowling options as he’ll be up against a strong Indian batting line-up.
With their top-order doing bulk of the scoring in the first three matches, the
middle order is likely to be tested against a well-rounded Indian bowling unit.
India: Virat Kohli (c), Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra
Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, KL
Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav
New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), Tom Blundell (wk),
Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult,
Colin Munro, Ish Sodhi, Henry Nicholls, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Jimmy Neesham.