Former Minister passes away

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Aug 28: Former Union Railway Minister  and veteran Congress leader Mohd Shafi Qureshi passed away after long illness at his residence in Delhi today.
Party sources said that Mr Qureshi was 89 and is survived by his wife, two sons, a daughter and grand children.
He was not keeping  good health for the last several months due to chest congestion and was almost bed ridden.  He breathed his last  at his Tara Apartment residence,  Kalkaji, Okhla road, New Delhi.  The burial will took place in the Union capital tomorrow morning.
Mr Qureshi remained JKPCC president twice and Governor of  Madhya Paradesh and Bihar.  He was elected to Lok Sabha twice from Anantnag Parliamentary constituency of Kashmir.  With his efforts as Union Railway Minister,  the train arrived Jammu from Pathankote and he inaugurated the Jammu Railway Station. Samjhouta Express  between New Delhi and Lahore was started during his regime as Railway Minister, the party sources said.
Governor N N Vohra and Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti have condoled the demise of veteran Congress leader Mr Qureshi.  In their condolence message,  Mr Vohra and Ms Mufti conveyed their sympathies to the bereaved family  and prayed for the peace to the departed soul.
Dy Chief Minister Dr Nirmal Singh has also expressed deep condolences on the demise of veteran Congress leader.  In his condolence message,   the DyCM expressed sympathies with the bereaved family and prayed for eternal peace to the departed soul. He also recalled the great contributions of Late Qureshi for the development of this State.
Meanwhile, Leader of Opposition in Raja Sabha and former Union Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad has expressed his grief  and sorrow on the sad demise of  veteran party leader Mohd Shafi Qureshi.  Mr Azad described him as torch bearer of Congress ideology and secular Parliamentarian. Azad said Mr Qureshi  was public friendly and upright gentleman.
Mr Azad expressed his condolences to the bereaved family  and prayed for  peace of the departed soul.
Several senior PCC leaders including PCC chief  G A Mir,  Peerzada Mohd Sayeed, Sham Lal Sharma,  Raman Bhalla, Mula Ram, Mohd Sharief  Niaz, R S Chib, Jugal Kishore Sharma,  Taj Mohiuddin, Ravinder Sharma,  Dr Manohar Lal,  Yogesh Sawney,  Ashok Sharma, Ghulam Nabi Monga, Muzaffar Parray, Anil Chopra, Manmohan Singh and others condoled the death of veteran Congress leader and conveyed  their sympathies to the bereaved family.