Finally, committees framed for Drug De-addiction Policy implementation

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Mar 8: Finally, the Government has constituted State and Divisional Level Monitoring Committees as per the provisions of the Drug De-addiction Policy, which was notified on January 11, 2019 following the approval of State Administrative Council.
EXCELSIOR in its March 6, 2019 edition had exclusively reported that Government has neither formulated Action Plan nor Monitoring Committees, which otherwise is a vital step to start implementation of Drug De-addiction Policy.
Today, Commissioner/ Secretary to Government, General Administration Department issued order whereby sanction has been accorded to the constitution of committees for implementation of Drug De-addiction Policy in the State.
As per the order, Chief Secretary is the Chairman of the State Level Policy Implementation Monitoring Committee while as Administrative Secretary, Health and Medical Education Department is the Vice-Chairman.
Administrative Secretaries of School Education, Social Welfare, Youth Services and Sports, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Departments, Director SKIMS Soura, IGP Crime Branch and Excise Commissioner are the members of the committee while as Principal Government Medical College Jammu/Srinagar is Member Secretary (alternate every two years). Heads of the Department of Psychiatry, GMC Srinagar and GMC Jammu are Technical Members of the committee.
The civil society members nominated in the committee are Dr Rafiq Ahmad Pampori, ex-Principal GMC Srinagar, Zorawar Singh Jamwal, General Secretary Press Club Jammu, Omar Tramboo, Civil Society Forum Kashmir and social activist Tashi Wangchuk.
This committee will suggest changes in the policy from time to time as may be deemed necessary; try to look for financial support for various de-addiction activities in the State and meet twice in a year-one each in Jammu and Srinagar to monitor the implementation of the policy on ground.
Similarly, Divisional Level Committees have been constituted for Jammu and Kashmir Divisions. These Committees will be headed by Administrative Secretary, Health and Medical Education Department.
The civil society members nominated in the Jammu division committee are Vishal Bharti, Bureau Chief UNI Jammu, Deepak Aggarwal, Founder PAHAL Social Organization, Deepak Gupta, general secretary Traders Federation and Mahant Rohit Shastri, President Kailash Jyotish Evam Vedic Sansthan Trust.
The civil society members nominated in the Kashmir division committee are Shuja-ul-Haq, President Press Club Srinagar, Abdul Hamid Bhat, owner Rahim Greens, social activist Bashir Ahmed Wani and Molvi Mohammad Yaseen.
The Divisional Level Committees will inspect the existing de-addiction facilities in the State and grant or cancel licenses whatever applicable after thorough and proper inspection of infrastructure, manpower and standards of care.
Moreover, these committees will advise various stakeholders from time to time for implementation of Drug De-addiction Policy on ground and look at monitoring of prescription drug abuse and suggest remedial measures to Drug Controller.