Dr R L Bhat, Dr Kalla, others presented awards by JKVM

T.N Razdan former President JKVM being presented an award at New Delhi.
T.N Razdan former President JKVM being presented an award at New Delhi.

Excelsior Correspondent
New Delhi, Feb 19: Jammu Kashmir Vichar Manch organized its annual flagship programme “Samoohik Shivratri Mohotsav”- Herath Milan at Hindi Bhawan, here on Sunday. The programme was attended by Jai Ram Thakur, Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh as chief guest and  Vinay Sehestrabude, president, ICCR as guest of honour.
While speaking on the occasion Jai Ram Thakur recalled his association with displaced Kashmiri Pandit community when he was a student activist. He mentioned that as organising secretary of ABVP Kashmir Unit, he got the opportunity of serving the uprooted community in Jammu camps.
Dr Vinay Sehestrabude in his presidential address expressed deep anguish over the plight of displaced Kashmir Pandits, who he said, have been target of Pak supported extremism.
G L Raina, MLC raised the issue of encroachment of property belonging to Kashmiri Pandits and said that the same needs urgent attention.
Surinder Ambardar, MLC said that a lot needs to be done to bring the KP issue on the priority list of policy makers.
Sanjay Ganjoo, president JKVM expressed his concern over inefficiency of Government in addressing basic issues of displaced Kashmiri community.
On the occasion JKVM presented Pt. Krishnajoo Razdan Saraswati Puruskar for outstanding work in literature to eminent writers Dr R L Bhat, Dr B N Kalla and Dr C L Raina.
Lalitaditya Shaurya Puruskar for outstanding act of bravery,   Lokesh Zalpuri Shriyabhat Kirti Puruskar for outstanding work in community service to Dr Ramesh Raina Yashaskar Sammaan for remarkable institutional contribution for community upliftment to Sandhya Dhar, Ardh Ratri Maha Ragheneya Sewa Sanstha Trust (Kheer Bhawani) Jammu, Dr Uday Kakroo.
Pt Tika Lal Taploo Memorial Award for outstanding nationalistic contribution in Kashmir Valley : Vaital Bharav Sewa Sabha & Rainawari Action Forum.
The annual event marked side events including Lalita Koul Sahib Memorial Kashmiri speaking competition, Painting & Model making competition, Kashmiri Dress Presentation and Bhajan Sandhya.
The winners in Lalita Koul Sahib Memorial Kashmiri speaking in senior category  were Kalhan Safaya  and junior category  Khushi Pandit. Bimla Koul, Memorial Kashmiri speaking consolation prize: Vanshika Pandita, Chhavi Pandita and Shreya Bhat.
In senior category painting competition  Eshita Razdan got the first prize, Khushi Pandit got the second prize and Shreya Bhat was declared 3rd.
In junior category: Ridhima Bhat 1st, Nivriti Razdan 2nd and Chitrakshi Pandita was declared 3rd.
Kashmiri Dress Presentation: The three best presentations include Arti Razdan, Veena Pandit & Master Neel Pandita.
Rakshita Dhar made a live painting on icons of Kashmir on the stage while the programme was underway and the same was later presented to  Jai Ram Thakur, Sanjeev Raina (Gautam) along with his team of child artists as usual mesmerized the audience with melodious bhajans.