Daylong District Wrestling C’ship organized

Players in action during the Wrestling Championship at Vijaypur on Friday.
Players in action during the Wrestling Championship at Vijaypur on Friday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
SAMBA, Mar 24: A daylong District Wrestling Championship was organized by Wrestling Association Samba at Police Technical Training Institute (PTTI) Vijaypur, here today.
The championship was organized under the patronage of Wrestling Association of J&K, Wrestling Federation of India, J&K Sports Council and J&K Olympic Association, wherein 40 wrestlers from the district Samba participated in the championship.
Shiv Kumar (SSP), Principal Police Technical Training Institute Vijaypur was the chief guest on the occasion, while Basu Dev, President Wrestling Association J&K was the guest of honour.
Rajinder Singh Rahi (SP), Dy. Commandant IRP-19th Battalion, Advocate Vijay Gupta, president District Samba Wrestling Association and Zia-Ul-Haq, DySP (Admn./ Outdoor) PTTI Vijaypur were present on the occasion.
Chief guest Shiv Kumar Sharma congratulated the organizers for organizing the event and encouraged the participating wrestlers. He also briefed the participants that to take part in sports enthusiastically and get rid of all bad habits.
Prominent citizens including former wrestlers were present during the championship along with Ravinder Sharma chairman technical committee, Krishan Singh, Roshan Sharma, Sahil Daogoria, and others.
In 50 KG: Harsh Slathia-Gold, Aman Jamwal-Silver and Samrat Slathia-Bronze, in 57 KG: Mangal-Gold, Udhay-Silver and Mirza-Bronze medal, in 61 KG: Manish-Gold, Nittin- Silver and Harun Choudhary- Bronze, in 65 KG: Sahir Ali- Gold, Sumit Gangla-Silver and Shahid Ali-Bronze, in 79 KG: Manzoor Gold, Sahil Singh-Silver and Sawar Khokar-Bronze, in 97 KG: Abdul Rashid-Gold, Shekhar-Silver and in 125 KG: Shubham Singh-Gold and Ankush Chib-Bronze medal.
In cadet 45 KG: Bhuvan Vaid-Gold, Swayam -Silver and Leo Slathia-Bronze medal, in 48 KG: Mohd. Haseem- Gold, Aryan Choudhary-Silver and Amit Sharma-Bronze medal.