Cong protests against hike in diesel, petrol prices

Congress activists taking out a protest march in Jammu. — Excelsior/Rakesh
Congress activists taking out a protest march in Jammu. — Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, June 22: Activists of Block Congress Committee, Jammu East , today held a strong protest against hike in prices of diesel and petrol.
The protest was held at Shahidi Chowk Jammu on the instruction of PCC president Ghulam Ahmad Mir, former Minister Raman Bhalla, Vice President JKPCC and In Charge District President Jammu Urban – Yogesh Sawhney.

Click here to watch video
The protesting Congress activists raised slogans against the Government and demanded substantial reduction in fuel rates, which have been continuously rising since the last sixteen days.
Signifying their demand and concern, the protesters used a “Tanga” (horse cart) during the demonstration. “The Government is taking us back to decades ago when petrol and diesel weren’t accessible for everyone, to the times when people would ride the “tanga” and even now people will be forced to ride the tanga under this regime”, stated the protesters.
Pawan Dev Singh and Shrikant Sharma, In Charge Jammu East and Anoop Gupta, General Secretary DCC In Charge Block number 8 and Anand Gandotra, Congress President Block number 7, led the protest. Pawan Dev Singh said: “It has been sixteen consecutive days that the prices are rising. Petrol price, too, is at a two years high. In total, the petrol price has gone up by Rs 7.97 per litre and diesel by Rs 8.88 per litre. At such rates, it will cause inconvenience to a lot of stakeholders. We strongly oppose the daily increase in diesel and petrol prices, and demand the Government to roll back the same.”
Anoop Gupta asked the Government to reduce diesel and petrol prices, especially considering the COVID-19 pandemic situation. “The Government, in March had hiked excise duty on petrol by Rs 3 per litre each and then again in May by Rs 10 per litre on petrol and Rs 13 per litre on diesel. The Government has to prepare some strategy to keep price rise at a minimum, especially considering the already terrifying situation of the country,” he said.
Those who took part in the protest, included Ch Mohiudin, Councillor , M L Malagar, Jyoti Vaid, Sushant Gupta , Michel Masih, Nazir Masih, Parshotam Mehra, Titus Gill, Ram Mangotra, Manu Jamwal, Parvinder Kour, Chander Shekhar, Gurmeet Singh , Atul Sharma, Rajkumar Sodi, Harvinder Singh, Ajay Kumar, Gharu Ram, Anil Kumar, Manjit Singh, Rakhi Mehra, Varun Mehra, Shankey Sudan, Sumit Chibber and Pappu Puri.