Academy announces results of Annual Drama Festival 2016-17

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 30: As the Jammu Kashmir Academy of Art Culture and Languages today announced Annual Drama Festival result, Samooh Theatre bagged the Best Production award for its play Hamlet while 2nd  Best Production award was bagged by play Kirayedaar, staged by Chander-bhaga Sanskriti Manch.
Best Set award was announced to Jagpal (Kirayedaar – Chander-bhaga Sanskriti Manch) while Best Lights award has been bagged by Suraj Ganjoo (Hamlet – Samooh Theatre).
Best Director award goes to Ravinder Sharma (Hamlet – Samooh Theatre), Best Actor awarded to Sandeep Thakur as Hamlet (Hamlet – Samooh Theatre), Best Make-up award to Shalini/Seema (Aathvan Sarg – Yamini Cultural Society), Best Costumes to Ravinder Sharma (Hamlet – Samooh Theatre), Best Music to Surinder Manhas (Hamlet – Samooh Theatre), Best Actress award to Meera Tapasvi as Salma (Kirayedaar – Chander-bhaga Sanskriti Manch) and Best Child Artist award Naman as Tanoo (Oh Jamya Hi Nai… -Society for Environment Educ-ation and Modern Art)
In the category of Consolation prizes, award  has been given to Shammi (Chopayer Ye Gash – Vomedh Rangmanch) for Make-up,  Meera Tapasvi & Rajneesh Kumar Gupta (Kirayedaar -Chanderbhaga Sanskriti Manch) for Direction, Seema ((Aathvan Sarg – Yamini Cultural Society) for Costumes and Vikran (Aathvan Sarg – Yamini Cultural Society) for Music.
Certificates of Merit in Acting, have been announced to Sunil Sharma as Pehalwan (Oh Jamya Hi Nai…-Society for Environment Education and Modern Art), Rishiv Prabhakar as Maulvi (Oh Jamya Hi Nai… -Society for Environment Education and Modern Art), Sharnam Sharma as Danav (Sach ki Bela – Manoranjan Kala Kendra), Balwinder Singh as Hamid (Kirayedaar – Chander-bhaga Sanskriti Manch), Subhash Jamwal as Shankar (Dhaed Roti – Hardeep Dance and Cultural Society), Arvin Tickoo as Veerji Wanchoo-1 (Chopayer Ye Gash – Vomedh Rangmanch), Jatinder Jotshi as Veerji Wanchoo-2 (Chopayer Ye Gash – Vomedh Rangmanch), Aditya Bhanu as Nawab (Chup Kar – Nav Durga Kala Manch),  Shazi Khan as Shekhu (Chup Kar – Nav Durga Kala Manch), Sapna Soni as Padma (Aarakt Kshan – M.Jackson Cultural Institute of Society), Cherry Sabikhi as Lali (Aarakt Kshan – M.Jackson Cultural Institute of Society),  Anoop Giri as Kalidas (Aathvan Sarg – Yamini Cultural Society),  Neha Lah-otra as Priyagunmanjari (Aathvan Sarg – Yamini Cultural Society), Samriti Dutta as Priyamvada – (Aathvan Sarg – Yamini Cultural Society), Ashok Bhat as Kidar Nath (Mool – Bhoorang Foun-dation Jammu) and Devanshu Raina as Polonius – (Hamlet – Samooh Theatre).
The awards were announced by Dr  Aziz Hajini , Secretary , J&K Academy of Art, Culture and Languages,  while addressing a press conference in his office Chamber, here today at Cultural Academy complex.
On the occasion, Dr Hajini  also disclosed that Academy is also organizing  a two day conference on Performing and Visual arts,  including Music Dance and Drama and Painting, very soon on the topic – Present scenario and challenges of  performing and Visual arts with regards to the Jammu and Kashmir.