4th Ladakh Marathon witnesses huge participation

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
Leh, Sept 13: As many as 4000 runners worldwide participated in the 4th Ladakh Marathon in four different categories. There were four categories which includes 7 Km distance, half Marathon 21 Km long distance, full Marathon 42 Km and Ultra Khardongla Challenge with 72 Km distance. In 7km marathon mostly school students participates, Half Marathon 1600 participated  out of which 400 participants from different parts of India, in full Marathon 300 participated and the toughest one is Khardongla Challenge 72 Km distance in which 100 runners including 70 outsiders participated. Deputy Commissioner Leh Parsana Ramaswamy G, GoC 14 Core Maj General Patyal, Air Marshal P.P.Reddy and LSRC CO Col. N Singh formally flag off Marathon from Shanti Stupa this morning at 6:00 hours.
In Khardongla Challenge the most toughest with the distance of 72 Km, LSRC Jawan Tsewang Todan BIT 7206 with timing 06:33:41 was winners followed by Rigzin Norbo BIT No 7321 with timing 06:41:25 was runner up and Tsering Stobgais BIT No 7325 with timing 07:08:43 was third position holders.
Tsewang Tokdan while expressing his delight over achieving the top spot thanked his parents for the constant support which encouraged him to take part such tough race. Women winner in the full marathon 42 Km distance runner Tsetan Dolkar from Lamayuru village expressing her gratitude to Rimo Expedition for providing such platform for the youths of Ladakh said that she had been taking part for the third consecutive year with an aim to opt her career in athletics.
One of the participants from Bangalore Pramod who turns 50 last Monday participated in full Marathon said that this participation was best gift to myself running at this altitude.
Later, Deputy Commissioner Parsana Ramaswamy G, LSRC Commanding Officer Col. NJ Singh, Additional SP T.Gyalpo distributed the prizes to winners at the finishing point at Ladakh Public School Campus Skara in a function held to honour the winners and participants.  Col. N Singh and DC Ramaswamy congratulated the winners on the occasion.
Pertinent to mention here that Ladakh Marathon  is the 5th Marathon from India including Mumbai and Banglore, Delhi Marathon etc to get the International recognition.