11 states issued notifications to set up spl courts on cases agnst politicians: Centre to SC

NEW DELHI: The Centre has told the Supreme Court that 11 states have issued notifications for setting up of 12 special courts to exclusively deal with cases involving politicians.

The Union Ministry of Law and Justice, in an affidavit filed in the Supreme Court, said while two special courts are to be established in Delhi, one each would be established in Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, Maharashtra, and Madhya Pradesh.

Out of the 12 special courts, six have been set up at the sessions court level, five at the magistrate level while the class of the Court in Tamil Nadu has not been indicated, it said.

“The territorial jurisdiction of these special courts is covering the entire state whereas the territorial jurisdiction of two special courts set up in Delhi are for the offences committed in Delhi or partly in Delhi. As per the information available to this Ministry, the total number of cases transferred, disposed of and pending in these Special Courts are 1233, 136 and 1097 respectively,” the affidavit added. (AGENCIES)