Tributes paid to Major Som Nath Sharma

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 31: Rich tributes were paid to Major Som Nath Sharma on his 94th birth anniversary.
Dogra Brahman Pratinidhi Sabha paid tributes to Major Som Nath Sharma on his 94th birth anniversary by organizing a function at Brahman Sabha under the president ship of Ved Parkash Sharma. Large number of people from different walks of life participated in the function. While speaking on the occasion, the speakers highlighted the great role of Major Som Nath Sharma, who laid down his life while defending the Srinagar Air port from the attack of Kabaili with the collaboration with Pak Army on November 3, 1947. In the function, it was decided that the Sabha will approach the Government for providing a suitable place to install the statue of Shaheed Major Som Nath Sharma in City of Temples. Among others present were PC Sharma, VM Magotra, Nanak Chand Sharma, Madan Lal Sharma, Satyanand Sharma, Subash Shastri, Surinder Sharma, Shiv Ram Sharma, Jagan Nath Sharma, Krishan Lal Sharma, Gurdass Sharma, Sri Kerni, Shanti Sarrop Baru, Mohan Lal Sharma, Romesh Sharma, Shiv Charan Dass Sharma, Sat paul Sharma, Mohan Lal Sharma, Prem Sharma and Raman Sharma.
Bawa Kailakh Dev Parbandhak Committee paid tributes to J&K first Param Vir Chakra awardee Major Som Nath Sharma, who had made supreme sacrifice while defending Kashmir from invading Pakistani tribals and Army in 1947. A function was organized at Raipur Domana where rich tributes were paid to the martyr. State Vice President, Vishwa Hindu Parishad, Shakti Dutt Sharma, was the chief guest on the occasion, who while speaking threw light on the life of Major Som Nath Sharma. Mahant of Bawa Kailakh Dev Asthan Rohit Shastri appealed to the Governor NN Vohra to pay homage to the great personality by naming Jammu airport on the name of Major Som Nath Sharma. Bawa Kailakh Dev Parbhandhak Committee President Ram Pal Seth, State BJP Kissan Morcha General Secretary Sunil Dutt Sharma (Raka), Yash, Rajat Soodan, Dr Varun, Vinod Khajuria, Ajay Rakwal, Sahil Seth, KK Seth and many others were present on the occasion.