Teachers Forum threatens stir for release of salary

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Jan 27: A State level meeting of Jammu & Kashmir Teacher Forum was held at Jammu under the chairmanship of  president EJAC and chairman JKTF, A Q Wani, here today for conveying strong resentment over the delay of SSA, RMSA, NPS salaries despite repeated representations and peaceful protests by elite class of society.
In the meeting it was unanimously decided that “enough is enough” and teachers have to break the silence and should be ready for result oriented struggle.
Wani said that by continuous delay in the salary of teaching community indicates non-seriousness of authorities of Education Department towards its teachers, whose families have reached to the stage of starvation with acute social problems.
Wani said that due to non-payment of salaries J&K Bank is charging compound interest on the loan of teachers, having their no fault. He described the 5 months delay in salary is inhuman, illegal and unjustified and every conscious citizen should raise voice against this brutality.
Wani said that non-payment of salaries has adversely effected the social life of teachers and put the whole teaching community in mental trauma which will negatively and adversely effect the education standard in the State.
Wani said that the silence of authorities of Education Department & HRD Ministry is totally intolerable. Authorities of Education Department and the HRD Ministry are enjoying the pain and suffering of teaching community, he alleged.
Wani urged upon the Government, especially the Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti for her personal intervention, in getting the pending salaries released at an earliest.  Otherwise Jammu & Kashmir Teacher Forum is fully prepared to launch a State vide agitation for their legitimate rights, honor and respect of the community. If salaries are not released upto 31st of January 2017, teaching community will have no option other than to come on roads,” he warned.
The meeting was attended by Ganesh Khajuria, G.M Bogami, Surat Singh Toofani, Pir Nisar Ahmed, Mohd. Iqbal, Jamat Ali Agah, Bashir Ahmed Thokar, S  Ravinder Singh, Gopal Singh, Gh  Nabi Sofi, Mohd. Safi Rather, Charan Dass, Kuldeep Singh, Khalid Bashir, Shankar Singh, Raj Singh, Nazir Ah. Rather, Mohd. Altaf Bhat and others.