Subash Shastri for interim relief in favour of Govt employees

Subash Shastri addressing NMC workers on Sunday.
Subash Shastri addressing NMC workers on Sunday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Jan 22: President of the National Mazdoor Conference (NMC), Subash Shastri today urged upon the State Finance Minister to immediately pay interim relief at the rate of 20 percent in favour of the employees of the State Government and pensioners decided by the State Government in implementing 7th Pay Commission recommendations from 1st April 2018.
Addressing a well attended rally of NMC workers at Gandhi Nagar, Shastri remarked that as a goodwill gesture, the State Government employees and pensioners should immediately be paid 20 percent interim relief since there is very little chance of payment of DA installments to State Government employees and pensioners. The situation calls for taking a sympathetic view so that salaried class and pensioners could get a sigh of relief, he added.
Shastri also raised the point of nearly sixty one thousand daily rated workers and said, “Since the State Government has started the process of regularization of these workers in a phased manner, there is no room for any slackness on this account. The issue has been gathering dust for the last 24 years.”
“Similarly, the issue pertaining to clerical cadre has still not been resolved with the result that there is resentment within the cadre”, he added.
During the rally, several resolutions were adopted. These included; creation of wage head in various departments of the State Government for regular disbursement of monthly wages of daily rated workers, release of all their pending wages, re organization of Floriculture Department, enhancement in wages of daily rated workers to rupee three hundred fifty per day at per Central Government pattern, increase in Medical Allowance and technical grades in favour of Gardeners of Floriculture Department etc.
Among other, who spoke on the occasion included Rajan Babu Khajuria, B S Jamwal, Darshan Bawa, Tilak Raj, Jayanto Ram, Mohd Shafi, Surinder Kumar, Sham Lal Sharma, Sunil Kochhar, Suraj Parkash, Sukhdev Singh, Com Barkat Ram, Bopinder Singh, Sudesh Bhagat, Tarsem, Swarn Bhagat, Vijay Bhagat, Girdhari Bhagat and Dilip Bhagat.