Breaking News:

Sr Police XI wins 3rd New Year Masters T20 Cup

Sunil Sharma distributes prizes

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 15: Scripting a convincing 16 runs win over star-studded Parade Sports Association XI, Sr. Police Cricket Club lifted the title trophy of the 3rd New Year Masters T20 Cricket Cup, organized by Jammu and Kashmir Transport Department, under the supervision of Sunil Kumar Sharma, Minister of  State for Sports and Transport at Parade Ground, here.
Six teams participated in the Tournament which included Media XI, Sr Police XI, Doordarshan XI, Parade Sports Association XI, Cantt Cricket XI and Singh Akhnoor XI.
Former Ranji Trophy player, Rajesh Gill, Chief Prosecuting Officer JKP was the Coordinator of the event.
The slogan of the tournament was ” Drive carefully, to live joyfully”.
Earlier, winning the toss and batting first, Sr. Police XI managed to score a good total of 165 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 5 wickets. Dhruv Mahajan top scored with unbeaten 63 runs, while Anand Tripathi contributed 62 runs to the total. Rajesh Gill chipped in with 12 runs. For Parade Sports Association XI, Sanjay Sharma scalped 3 wickets, while Sunny claimed  two.
In reply, Parade Sports Association could not chase the target in the allotted 20 overs and managed to score 149 runs by losing 8 wickets, thus lost the match by a narrow margin of 16 runs. Pardeep Bali was the top scorer with 44 runs, while Sanjay Sharma contributed 37 runs. Anshuman Sharma chipped in with brisk 12 runs.
For Sr. Police XI, RK Bhat bagged 3 wickets, while Kuldeep Kumar claimed 2 wickets. Rajesh Gill, Ramesh Kotwal and  Shamsher Singh Manhas shared 1 wicket each.
Dhruv Mahajan was declared as man of the match, while Anand Tripathi of Sr. Police XI was adjudged as the best batsman of the tournament. Shamsher Singh was named as best bowler, while Rajesh Gill, skipper of Sr Police XI was adjudged as man of the series.
The final and other matches were officiated by Saleem-Ur-Rehman, Sadiq Hussain Malik, Sandeep Manchanda, Vinod Kandyara and Sanjay.
Minister of State for Transport and Sports, Sunil Kumar Sharma was chief guest on the valedictory function, while Bipul Pathak Principal, Secretary of Transport Department, Vaneeta Gupta, Commissioner/SecretaryTransport, Shafkat Wattali IGP Traffic and M A. Sofi Managing Director SRTC were the guests of honour.
The Minister distributed prizes among the winners and runner-up teams on the occasion.


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in sports news. Bookmark the permalink.