Breaking News:

Semis position cleared in 4th Sant Gurbaksh Singh (Danna) Memorial Hockey Tournament

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 24:  Scripting convincing victories in the quarterfinals today, J&K Police, Punjabi University Patiala, SGPC Amritsar and Gurdaspur Hockey Club have sealed berth in the last four stage as the semifinals lineup has been drawn in the ongoing 4th Sant Gurbaksh Singh (Danna) Memorial Hockey Tournament, being organized by SPDC Trust, Guru Nanak Nagar, under the aegis of Hockey J&K at KK Hakhu Astroturf Stadium, here.
Now, in the semifinals to be played tomorrow, SGPC Amritsar will take on Gurdaspur Hockey Club at 1:30 pm, while J&K Police will face Punjabi University Patiala 3 pm at the same venue tomorrow.
Earlier, in the first quarterfinal played today, J&K Police thrashed Zorawar Hockey Club by six goals to one (6-0) in a one-sided contest. Jaspreet Singh scored 2 goals for J&K Police in 5th and 40th minutes, while Sumitpal, Sikander Pal, Satwant Singh and Charanjeet Singh netted the goals in 10th, 33rd, 46th and 60th minutes respectively. Shivay Vaid scored the lone goal for Zorawar Hockey Club.
Dr Khalid Hussain Malik, General Manger SRTC was the chief guest on the occasion.
In the second quarterfinal, Punjabi University Patiala defeated BSF Jammu by six goals to two (6-2). For Punjabi University Patiala, Tumvi scored the first goal 31st minute, which was followed by two back to back goals by Amritpal in 39th and 48th minutes. Then Tumvi netted his second and the team’s 4th goal in 55th minute,, which was followed by a goal scored by Lakhvinder in 58th minute and the last goal by Amritpal in 60th minute. For BSF Jammu, J Tiru and N Dang scored the goals in 28th and 43rd minutes respectively.
MS Reen, Resident Secretary Hockey J&K was the chief guest, who presented man of the match trophy to Tumvi of Punjabi University Patiala.
In the third quarterfinal, SGPC Amritsar trounced MBS Simbal Camp by five goals to one (5-1), while in the 4th and last quarterfinal, Gurdaspur Hockey Club defeated Banda Singh Hockey Club Poonch in an easy contest.
The matches were officiated by Iqbal Singh, Jagjeet Singh, Joginder Singh, Karanjit Singh, Manjeet Singh, Senapati, Mukesh Kumar and Satvir Singh, Tournament Director.
Prominent among others present on the occasion Rajinder Singh Raja, GS Bakshi, Indpal Singh Munna, Harvinder Singh, PP Singh, Janak Singh, Harbans Singh Chib, Gurcharanjeet Singh, Jaswant Singh and MS Reen.


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in sports news. Bookmark the permalink.