Breaking News:

Sachin Shiva slams cracking ton as Tamil Nadu, Haryana register wins

All India Super Six T20 Tourney for Physically Challenged

Sachin Shiva slams cracking ton as Tamil Nadu, Haryana register wins

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 21: Sachin Shiva of Tamil Nadu scored a magnificent century as Tamil Nadu and Haryana registered emphatic wins to stay alive in the All India Super-Six T20 Cricket Tournament for Physically Challenged cricketers, being organized by Jammu and Kashmir Police Department at Gulshan Ground, here.
Six teams namely Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu,West Bengal, Haryana and J&K are participating in this Tournament, which is being held under the supervision of Organizing Committee that includes Dilbag Singh, ADGP, Chairman of the event; Shafqat Ali Wattali,  IGP Armed, Organizing Secretary and Rajesh Gill, Chief Prosecuting Officer and Former Ranji Player as the Coordinator.
Inspector General of Police (IGP) JP Singh was the chief guest in today’s matches, while Mithun Manhas, IPL cricketer, who has the honour of leading North Zone in prestigious Duleep Trophy and Deodhar Trophy Tournaments, besides leading formidable Delhi for around a decade was the guest of honour.
The chief guest and guest of honour were introduced with the participating teams on the occasion.
While speaking on the occasion, IGP appreciated these cricketers for showing great cricketing skills and conveyed good wishes to all the participating teams for their future.
In the first match, Tamil Nadu scripted a superb victory over West Bengal by 65 runs.
Batting first, Tamil Nadu scored 161 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.  Skipper Sachin Shiva scored unbeaten 115 runs off 67 balls, studded with 17 boundaries and 3 massive sixes, while Yuvrajan contributed 13 runs to the total. From West Bengal, Tushar took 3 wickets, while Rafiqul and Rahul shared 1 wicket with each.
In reply, West Bengal bundled out for 95 runs in 15.3 overs, thus lost the match by 65 runs. Tushar made 23 runs, while Rahul and Prem Parkash contributed 17 and 12 runs for their team. Skipper Sachin Shiva was the wrecker-in-chief for Tamil Nadu, who took 5 important wickets, while Manivanan took 2 wickets and Rajmaheswer claimed one. Sachin Shiva was adjudged as man of the match.
In another match, Haryana scripted thrilling last-ball    victory over Rajasthan by 1 run.
Batting first, Haryana scored 156 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Vinod top scored with 40 runs (5 fours, 1 six), while Deepak made 33 runs (2 fours, 3 sixes) and Yashpal Sharma contributed 19 runs to the total. From Rajasthan, Jaisa Ram, Azar Mohammad and Jaswant shared 1 wicket each.
In reply, Rajasthan fell short of just one run, scoring 155 runs, thus lost the match by 1 runs. Jaswant, Iqbal Khan, Satyapal and Babu made valuable 36, 35, 32 and 22 runs respectively. Sandeep took 2 wickets for Haryana. Vinod of Haryana who scored 40 valuable runs was declared as man of the match. The matches were officiated by Sham Singh, Madan, Suresh Singh, Madan Mohan and Sandeep Manchanda.
In tomorrow’s fixture, Madhya Pradesh will take on West Bengal at 9.30 am and J&K will lock horns with Haryana at 1.30 pm.


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in sports news. Bookmark the permalink.