Rakesh re-elected JCCI president

Re-elected Jammu Chamber president, Rakesh Gupta with his winning team after election results were declared at mid-night on Sunday. —Excelsior/Rakesh
Re-elected Jammu Chamber president, Rakesh Gupta with his winning team after election results were declared at mid-night on Sunday. —Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Mar 5: Rakesh Gupta was re-elected as president while Manish Mahajan as secretary general of the Jammu Chamber of Commerce and Industry (JCCI) tonight for the term of two years.
The election for the posts of office bearers of the apex body of the Jammu traders, was held at Chamber House, Rail Head complex from 10 am to 5 pm today. Thereafter, the counting stated at the same venue. The results were declared at mid-night by the Election Committee headed by noted industrialist, Annil Suri.
For the post of president, Rakesh Gupta was declared re-elected. He defeated Arun Gupta (former secretary general JCCI), with the margin of 180 votes. Rakesh secured 1208 while Arun Gupta got 1028 votes.
Rajesh Gupta has been elected as senior vice president. He defeated Rajiv K Gupta. Rajesh (Narwal Fruit Market Association) secured highest number of 1806 votes while Rajiv K Gupta polled 435 votes. Rajeev Gupta (Kaka) has been elected as junior vice president. He defeated his rival Rahul Mahajan, former secretary of JCCI. Rajeev (Kaka) secured 1138 votes while Rahul Mahajan got 1105 votes.
Manish Gupta has been elected as secretary general and he defeated Deepak Aggarwal, former junior vice president with the margin of 255 votes. Manish secured 1294 while Deepak took 939 votes. Gaurav Gupta has been elected as secretary and he defeated Rajesh Gupta (Raju). Gaurav secured 1323 while, Raju bagged 905 votes.
Ashu Gupta, former treasurer was again declared elected for the same post unopposed as his only rival, Rakesh Jandial had withdrawn from the contest on February 15. Surinder Mahajan had also withdrawn from the contest, leaving Rajiv K Gupta and Rajesh Gupta to face each other for the post of senior vice president. Out of the total 2361 votes, 2263 were polled.
On February 2, the last date of filing of nominations, total 13 members were in fray but two members Surinder Mahajan and Rakesh Jandial withdrawn their candidature on February 15, the last date of withdrawal.
Earlier, 64th Annual General Meeting of the Jammu Chamber was held under the chairmanship of Rakesh Gupta, in which outgoing secretary general Arun Gupta presented annual financial statement. It was followed by election from 10 am to 5 pm. The counting started at 6.15 pm and the final result was declared by the Election president, Annil Suri at 12. 20 am. Election Committee members –Jagdish Langar, Rajan Gupta and Ashwani Khullar assisted the election process. Entire election was held under the supervision of District Adminis-tration. Speaker, Legislative Assembly Kavinder Gupta, who is member of the Jammu chamber, also casted his vote this afternoon.
As the final election results were declared, the supporters of the winning members started distributing sweets among the gathering and garlanding the winners. Many of them started dancing on the drum beats. The midnight jubilations converted the entire Chamber complex in the mood of celebrations and this process of dancing and ‘gala festivity’ went on for about an hour.