Newly selected Lecturers protest for their exclusion from SRO-202

Newly selected Lecturers protesting for revocation of SRO-202.
Newly selected Lecturers protesting for revocation of SRO-202.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Oct 4: Continuing their protest against implementation of Rule 8 and 9 of SRO-202 of 2015 on them, the newly selected 10 Plus 2 Lecturers in the School Education Department, held a strong protest demonstration, here today.
The aggrieved Lecturers raised slogans against the discriminatory SRO and demanded necessary amendments in the same. They also appealed the Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti and Education Minister Altaf Bukhari to personally intervene into the matter for redressal of their grievance.
The aggrieved Lecturers  assembled near Dogra Chowk  Jammu and then held a demonstration. Carrying banners and placards in support of their demand, they raised slogans against alleged discrimination with the newly selected Lecturers.
Click here to watch video
Alleging disparity  with them, they explained that  despite the fact that  the selected candidates for all the Gazetted posts, vide notification number 09-PSC(DR-P) of 2016, dated 10-03-2016,  had undergone the same selection procedure by the same recruiting rules, SRO-202 was enforced only on 10+2 Lecturers, who are  getting  meager consolidated salary for five years of probation and serving  in difficult areas including Leh and other higher reaches of the State during this period.
“Thus it clearly seems that parameters of justice have been violated while categorizing the various Gazetted posts  for implementation of the said SRO, hence adopting pick and choose method, which affects only the Lecturers of School Education Department,” they said and demanded that the issue should be solved as soon as possible.
It may be recalled  that the Jammu Kashmir Public Service Commission had advertised various Gazetted posts of different departments after the enactment of SRO-202, but the same was not applied to any of these posts except Lecturer of School Education Department.