NCRAMSS-2017 concludes at SMVDU

Participants of NCRAMSS-2017 posing for a group photograph during valedictory function on Friday.
Participants of NCRAMSS-2017 posing for a group photograph during valedictory function on Friday.

Excelsior Correspondent

KATRA, Feb 17: The three day National Conference on “Recent Advances in Materials Science and Spectroscopy (NCRAMSS-2017)”, organized by Department of Physics Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University (SMVDU), Katra, in collaboration with Laser and Spectroscopy Society of India (LASSI), concludes today at SMVDU.
Prof A K Rai from University of Allahabad chaired the ‘valedictory function’. He addressed the audience with his enlightened words. Dr S K Wanchoo, SMVDU, Dr Yugal Khajuria, Head Department of Physics and Dr Y Dwivedi, Secretary, LASSI also shared their thoughts and graced the occasion. Dr Vinay Kumar, organizing secretary, NCRAMSS-2017, SMVDU summarized the three day report in the function.
The conference involved Technical sessions.  Third day was focused on the themes such as smart and functional materials; material modifications; soft and biomaterials; X-ray characterizations; storage materials; Polymers and blends; IR/thermal Imaging, etc. 17 invited talks and 12 oral presentations were delivered by eminent speakers and academicians in this conference.
Prof. Rajnikant from University of Jammu, in his presentation, explained the methodology for small molecules X-ray crystallography. Prof M S Mehato from Delhi Technical University, spoke on the development of protein and metal ion sensitive luminescent semiconductor quantum dots. Dr  Shalender Kumar from Amity University Haryana spoke on the topic of “electronic structure and magnetic properties of DMS materials” and explained the physics of origin of ferromagnetism in these magnetic materials. He highlighted the importance of synchrotron radiation to study the fundamentals of spintronics materials.
Other invited speakers were Dr. Y. Dwevedi, NIT Kurukshetra, Dr. Vinod Kumar, IIT Delhi, Dr. Suman Kalyan Pal from IIT Mandi and many more academicians and  professionals from various parts of India. The invited speakers were felicitated at the end of each talk.
Prof. Lalji Dixit, CSIR IIP Dehradun and Dr. Sunil K Wanchoo, SMVDU chaired the poster sessions and out of 78 posters three best poster awards were given. The first prize was given to  Bindu Raina of  Jammu University,  second prize to N C  Maile from  Shivaji University Kohlapur and third prize was given to Nivethitha  from  Anna University. Bank Manager, J&K Bank SMVDU Branch,  Vinod Vaid and  Amit Gupta, Manager Accounts,  were presented with a memento as a token of appreciation for their financial support in the organization of the conference.
Dr  Kamni, Co-convener,  NCRAMSS-2017 conducted proceedings of the valedictory  function and presented the formal vote of thanks.