Inter-Collegiate Kabaddi Tournament inaugurated at GDC Kathua

Prof Avtar Singh Jasrotia inaugurating Inter-Collegiate Kabaddi Tournament in Kathua on Tuesday.
Prof Avtar Singh Jasrotia inaugurating Inter-Collegiate Kabaddi Tournament in Kathua on Tuesday.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
Kathua, Oct 3: Inter-Collegiate Kabaddi (Men) Tournament was inaugurated in an impressive opening ceremony here today.
In the inaugural match, MAM College defeated GGM Science College. In a closely fought match, MAM College scored 31 points and Science College scored 25 points.
The tournament was inaugurated by Prof. Avtar Singh Jasrotia, Director, Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu. About 30 teams are participating in the tournament.
In his inaugural speech Prof. Jasrotia congratulated Govt. Degree College (Boys) Kathua for availing the opportunity of organizing the tournament.
He said that other than University of Jammu, GDC Kathua has got better infrastructure and facilities to organize such Inter-collegiate competitions.
Principal of the college, Prof Kartar Chand, in his welcome address, assured the Director Sports and Physical Education that GDC Kathua that the college is fully equipped to hold such events as college has already organised inter-collegiate tournaments in Volleyball and Kabaddi (Women) in the past. He thanked Jammu University for giving a golden opportunity to GDC Kathua in organizing such a mega event.
Earlier, NCC cadets of the college presented guard of honour to the Guest of Honour.  Dr PK Rao presented formal vote of thanks and Prof. Sumanesh Jasrotia conducted the proceedings of the programme.
The tournament is being organised by Dr. Balbinder Singh, Physical Director, GDC Kathua with the support of Sports Board of the college comprising of Prof. Sumanesh Jasrotia,             Prof. Sandeep Choudhary, Dr. R.K. Manhas, Dr. Suraya Partap Singh, Dr. Kehar Singh and Dr. Rachna.
Among others who witnessed the inaugural match was Dr Kulwinder Kour, Principal, GCW Kathua, Dr Anita, Dr Sangeeta, Dr Janak Singh, Dr Ram Murti Sharma, Prof Zulfi Singh, Prof Vijay Sharma, Prof RC Bhagat, Prof Anirurdh, Prof Rakesh Jasrotia, Prof Umesh Kailo, Prof Rajkiran, Prof Jasvinder, Prof Shubh, Prof Mukhtiar Singh Saini, Prof Anupama, Prof Neha Gupta and Prof Tishu.