Industrialists take up issues with Industries Secy

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 7: A delegation of Association of Industries led by its president  Rattan Dogra together with  Jatinder Aul, president Small Scale Industries Association, Digiana,  Deepak Dhawan, president, Birpur Industrial Association took up the burning issues of the Jammu industrialists with the   Commissioner/Secretary of Industries and Commerce Shaildender Kumar here today.
The delegation apprised the Commissioner/Secretary of the problems being faced by the industrial sector with regard to industrial incentives and problems arisen out of the implementation of GST in the State. They apprised that large junk of the working capital resources of the local units have been diverted towards meeting the financial obligation of GST. They requested Commissioner/ Secretary to use his good offices for early publication of the notification regarding GST so as to avoid any further erosion in their working capital resources.
Some of the vital issues of the industrial sector specifically denial of price / purchase preference by various Govt Departments / Agencies including PHE, PDD, Forest, Health and others were discussed in detail. They apprised that contrary to the Govt  orders to purchase atleast two-third of their requirement from local units, these Departments are not purchasing more than one-third of their requirement from local units denying the good attentions contained in various Govt orders. Penalties are being imposed by the Commercial Taxes Department against non-receipt of C-Form for the finished products exported outside the State besides recovery proceedings initiated thereafter were discussed.
In addition, revival of sick units in MSME sector largely promoted by local sons of the soil entrepreneurs and measures to contain any further spread of sickness among local MSME units were highlighted.
The Commissioner/ Secretary gave a  patient hearing towards the issues raised by the delegation. He assured that he shall take up the matter vigorously with the concerned authorities. He also assured that specific cases towards the non-implementation of price/purchase preference by various Govt.
Other prominent members comprising the delegation included Bansi Lal Gupta,  Sandeep Ohri,  Lavinder Singh Puri,  RP Sethi, Bipin Sharma, Gagan Jain,  Sanjay Chopra and others.