Extension Education Council meeting of SKUAST-J held

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Mar 13: 9th Extension Education Council meeting of SKUAST-Jammu was held here today under the chairmanship of Vice-Chancellor Prof P K Sharma, wherein scientists of the university, officers from the line departments, experts in the field of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences and progressive farmers took stock of the extension activities of the previous year and formulated action plan of the extension activities of next year.
Speaking on the occasion, Prof P K Sharma laid emphasis on proper implementation of Centrally sponsored schemes, mainly PMFBY, RKVY, Krishi Sinchai Yojna etc for augmenting the income of the farm households.  He said that Integrated Farming System (IFS) that includes cultivation of crops and trees in combination with dairy sector should be the main strategy for doubling the farmer income.
Dr R S Sahota, former Director Extension Education GADVASU, Ludhiana and Dr Mushtaq Ahmed, Director Extension, SKUAST-Kashmir in their expert remarks suggested documentation of farmers experiences and understanding their indigenous knowledge.  Further they emphasized for impact evaluation of developmental programmes.
On the onset, Dr K S Risam, Director Extension, SKUAST-Jammu deliberated upon the importance of holding such meetings and briefed the participants about the extension activities undertaken by SKUAST-Jammu during the current year.
In the meeting action taken on earlier Extension Education Council and proposed extension activities for next year were also deliberated upon.  Dr  P R  Bharti, Jt  Director(Farm) Animal Husbandry, S S  Sharma, Jt  Director Fisheries, S  Tarvinder Singh, Jt  Horticulture, Dr  Mohd. Raza, Jt Director Sheep Husbandry and C M Sharma, Dy Director Central, Department of Agriculture, Jammu also put forth their views in the meeting.
Dr  R K  Arora, Associate Director Extension & I/C of KVKs of SKUAST-J, Conducted  proceedings of the meeting whereas Dr  R R  Jat, Associate Director Extension, presented the formal vote of thanks.