DPC clears promotion of 6 IGPs as Addl DGPs

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Nov 9: The Departmental Promotion Committee (DPC) is reported to have cleared promotion of six Inspector Generals of Police (IGPs) as Additional Director Generals of Police (ADGPs). The promotions had been deferred in first DPC meeting on November 25.
The promotions have taken number of DGPs, Special DGPs and Additional DGPs in Jammu and Kashmir to whopping 19.
Official sources told the Excelsior that the DPC headed by Chief Secretary BB Vyas and comprising KB Aggarwal, Resident Commissioner, J&K Government, New Delhi, Principal Secretary, Home Department, RK Goyal and Director General of Police (DGP) Dr Shesh Pal Vaid, met in the Chief Secretary’s chamber in the Civil Secretariat this afternoon with only one item on agenda i.e. the promotion of six IGPs as Additional DGPs.
The DPC reportedly cleared the promotion of all six IPS officers of 1993 and 1994 batches belonging to Jammu and Kashmir cadre.
They included Deepak Kumar, presently on deputation to Government of India, Syed Javed Mujtaba Gillani, Director State Vigilance Organisation (SVO), Abdul Ghani Mir, IGP CID, Mohammad Suleman Salaria, Director Sher-i-Kashmir Police Academy, Alok Puri, IGP Crime Branch and Muneer Khan, IGP Kashmir. While Kumar is IPS officer of 1993 batch, five others are IPS officers of 1994 batch.
Kumar will get proforma promotion as he was on Central deputation, sources said.
“The posts of six Additional DGPs for posting of newly promoted officers have been identified, which was pre-requisite for convening the DPC and approving the promotions,” sources said.
The posts included Additional DG CID, Director Vigilance, Additional DGP Home Guards and Civil Defence, Additional DGP Police Headquarters and Director Sher-i-Kashmir Police Academy (SKPA) among others. The CID Wing is presently headed by the IGP while charge of Director Vigilance and Director SKPA was also being held by the officers of the IGP rank.
Sources said the DPC’s proposal would now go to the Cabinet for formal approval and further postings of the promoted officers.
Excelsior had exclusively reported the proposal to promote six IGPs as Additional DGPs, which would take number of Additional DGPs in Jammu and Kashmir to an all time high at 12. There are already seven police officers of Jammu and Kashmir cadre in the rank of DGP and Special DGPs, totaling 19 DGPs, Special DGPs and Additional DGPs.
There are seven IPS officers of Jammu and Kashmir cadre, who are working in the rank of DGPs and Special DGPs including Dr Shesh Val Vaid, DGP, SK Mishra, Director General Prisons, Navin Aggarwal, Director General, National Anti Doping Agency (NADA), Duty Rani Doley, Director, National Police Academy, VK Singh, Special DG Police Headquarters, Dilbagh Singh, Commandant General Home Guards, Civil Defence and State Disaster Responder Force (SDRF) and SM Sahai, who is on deputation to Centre and posted with National Security Advisor (NSA).
Of seven DGPs and Special DGPs, three officers are on Central deputation including Navin Aggarwal, Duty Rani Doley and SM Sahai while four others are posted in the State.
The promotion of six IGPs as Additional DGPs has taken number of Additional DGPs in Jammu and Kashmir to 12 as there are already six officers of Jammu and Kashmir cadre working as Additional DGPs including Rashmi Ranjan Swain, posted in Ministry of External Affairs, Arun Choudhary, Additional DGP Armed Police, Dr B Srinivas, Executive Director, National Thermal Power Corporation, Hemant Lohia and Lalat Indu Mohanty, both in BSF and Pankaj Saxena in Research and Analysis Wing (RAW). While Arun Choudhary is posted in J&K, five others are on Central deputation.
With the promotions, six posts of IGPs have fallen vacant but there was no immediate proposal for promotion of DIGs as IGPs on the ground that no DIG has completed 14 years of service, which was pre-requisite for promotion to the post of IGP.