Cong to hold protest, observe black day on Nov 8 against demonetization

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 5: Pradesh Congress has decided to hold protest demonstration on the re-opening of Civil Secretariat at winter capital city here tomorrow while the party will observe black day on November 8 against demonetization by Modi Government.
In a meeting of the senior functionaries of Congress party , held here today at PCC  headquarters, under the chairmanship of PCC president  GA  Mir, the members discussed the proposed protest  tomorrow on the opening day of Darbar in Jammu over the total failure of the coalition on various fronts and issues regarding which different organizations have given a call for bandh besides organizing protests in different forms. The Congress party has also extended its support to the bandh call, while the party leaders and senior activists would hold a protest march from Shahidi Chowk towards Civil Secretariat and offer court arrest on Monday morning.
The meeting also decided to hold a strong protest march on November 8, as part of the nationwide programme of the Congress party to observe back day over demonetization by  Modi Government  last year,  which resulted into several causalities and lot of sufferings to the poor and common people apart from adverse effect on the economy of the country, as GDP has fallen by about two percent.
The PCC chief asked the party leaders and workers to gear up their cadres to hold strong protest against the wrong policies of the Centre and State Govt and their failure to come up to the expectations of the people and meet their genuine aspirations and demands.
Prominent among those present included, senior vice president Sham Lal Sharma, vice presidents Mula Ram  and Raman Bhalla, Ch Mohd. Akram (MLA), Ravinder Sharma (chief spokesman), Rajnish Sharma (Co-treasurer), general secretaries -Yogesh Sawhney,  Dr Manohar Lal Sharma, Shabir Ahmed Khan,  Manjeet Singh,  Manmohan Singh, Vikram Malhotra,  Namrata Sharma  and Faqir Nath, Th  Hari Singh,  Ex-MLAs  Indu Pawar, Swarn Lata ,  Shiv Dev Singh, GL Chalotra, KC Bhagat & Ashok Dogra, Kuldeep Verma,  Amolak Singh, Maheshwar Singh, YV Sharma,  Ashok Sharma, Shiv Kumar Sharma president INTUC,  Pranav Shagotra president PYC, Neeraj Kundan president NSUI, Distt presidents Anil Chopra (Jammu) , Subash Gupta ex-MLC (Kathua),  Ashok Gupta (Udhampur),  S. Gurdarshan Singh, Hari Singh Chib,  Subash Bhagat,  Zahida Khan,  PCC Secretaries Praveen Akhtar, Thomas Khokhar, Sobha Singh,  Manjeet Singh Jatta, Anuradha Andotra,  Pankaj Dogra, Neeraj Gupta, Nadim Sharief Niaz and  Rajeev Saraf.