College Teachers apprise JU VC of their issues, demands

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Mar 13:  A delegation of College Teachers Association, led by the president CTA Jammu, Prof D S Manhas called on Vice Chancellor of Jammu University to discuss various issues related to College Teachers.
The Registrar JU. Dean Research Studies, Joint Registrar and Dean Academic Affairs (DAA) were also present in the meeting, wherein CTA raised the issue of allowing the College Teachers to act as guide and co-guides for pursuing research.
In this regard, the VC informed the Association that JU had written to the Principal Secretary in response to his letter of authorization of College Teachers to act as guide and co-guides. He directed the Dean Research Studies of JU to further look into the matter. He stated that guides will be allowed only if research centers are established in the colleges and teachers acting as supervisors are not transferred from the colleges in which they are pursing the research.
CTA also raised the issue of separate examination calendar to be prepared for winter zone colleges of Jammu division. In such colleges students get ample time in one semester i.e. from March to November, but very short time in the other semester i.e from February to April, which is not justified.
To settle the issue, VC framed a committee comprising of Registrar, DAA, COE, CTA president and General Secretary and Principals of Winter Zone Colleges, to settle this issue.
The CTA also raised the issue of streamlining of receipt of stationary in the University through a single reception point.  The VC directed the COE to examine the case and settle the issue.
CTA represented the cases of College  Teachers who had been admitted by the University for Ph.D in the year 2015 and who had completed course work of six months, appeared in Pre-Ph D Exam after taking proper permission from Higher Education Department but were not allowed to register for Ph D programme.
The Association further demanded that the Flying Squad Team sent in various examination centers should comprise of Professors from University/Colleges above the AGP of 6000.
The CTA delegation comprised of Dr Anil Ganjoo, Prof Hans Raj,  Dr Jagjit Singh, Prof Narayan Dutt,  Dr Sanjay Kotwal and Dr .Sandhya Bhardwaj.