Breaking News:

BJP announces names of 149 candidates for UP assembly polls

BJP announces names of 149 candidates for UP assembly polls

NEW DELHI: Former Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Laxmikant Vajpayee, grandson of former Chief Minister Kalyan Singh and the party’s national secretary Shrikant Sharma are among the 149 candidates whose names the BJP announced today for the State assembly polls.

Most of the seats will go to the polls in the first two phases on February 11 and 15.

Vajpayee has been fielded from Meerut, from where he is the sitting MLA, Singh’s grandson Sandeep Singh and Sharma will make their maiden entry in electoral fray from Atrauli and Mathura respectively.

Releasing the list, the party’s Central Election Committee’s Secretary J P Nadda said it has accommodated various sections of society. The CEC had met last night to finalise candidates.

It has retained sitting MLAs, including Sangeet Som and Suresh Rana, both accused in Muzaffarnagar riot cases, dismissed as a conspiracy by them, in the list. (AGENCIES)


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in Latest News, News. Bookmark the permalink.