Breaking News:

All-India Urdu Mushaira: Poets regale Urdu lovers

All-India Urdu Mushaira: Poets regale Urdu lovers

Lalit Gupta
JAMMU, Jan 28:  JAMMU, Jan 28:  All-India Urdu Mushaira, the annual iconic event which provides an opportunity to the general public to listen to leading poets of the times, was held as part of Republic Day celebrations at the Abhinav Theatre, here today.
Organized by J&K Academy of Art, Culture and Languages, the poetic symposium marked by poetry recitation of 26 prominent and widely acclaimed national and J&K Urdu poets, emerged as a tribute to the language, its timelessness, richness and versatility.
With Abdul Haq Khan, Minister for Law, Rural Development and Panchayati  as Chief Guest and Jehangir Hasan Mir, Deputy Chairman J&K Legislative Assembly as Guest of Honour, and Dr Ajiz Hazani,  Secretary, JKAACL, in the audience, the poetic symposium was compeered by Pradeep Khanna, who added a unique color with his inimitable style marked with interjections of selected couplets.
The highlight of the today’s poetic symposium which provided an opportunity to have the feel of the trends and concerns in contemporary Urdu poetry that along with exploring the eternal themes of love and beauty in a different and changed ways also focused on gamut of issues around us as a society, including the quagmire called politics, maladies like communalism, corruption, discrimination, void in human relationship etc.
The poets from the State who impressed the audience with their creative expressions as well as an ingenious use of language, led by Urdu’s master poet Arsh Sehbai, included Liaqat Zafari, Balraj Bakshi, Khalid Krar, Sagar Sehrai, Ahmad Sanas and Ajaz Asad.
The poets from Kashmir who were appreciated for the depth and sensitivity of their poems were Shafaq Sopari, Rafiq Naz, Sahib Rizvi, Hamdan Kashmiri, Rukhsana  Jabeen, Nazir Azad, Hassan Anzar Ashraf Aadil, and Dr. Drakshan Andrabi.
Others well known invited poets from who also recited their poems and won accolades included Krishan Kumar Toor (Dharamshala), Dr. Farhat Ehsas and Dr. Haneef Tareen (Delhi), Vijay Tiwari, Bhopal, Mehshar Afridi, Uttrakhand, Zero Bhandhavi, UP, Parveen Kumar Ashk, Pathankot, Mamta Singh, Dehradoon, Natkhat Azeem Abadi, Hasseb Soz.


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in jammu news, State2. Bookmark the permalink.