Academy announces results of Annual Drama Festival 2017-18

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 13: Jammu and Kashmir Academy of Art Culture and Languages today announced the awards of Annual Drama Festival 2017-18 in the various categories.
The Best Play award has been announced to “Urubhangam” by Natraj Natya Kunj while “Oedipus Rex” by Samooh Theatre bagged the award of second Best Play.  Best Director award has gone to Aaditya Bharti for the play `Urubhangam’ while 2nd Best Director award was bagged by    Ravindra Sharma for the play “Oedipus Rex”
Best Actor award has been bagged by Amandeep Sharma as Duryodhana while 2nd Best Actor award has gone to Dilshad Ahmed for his role as Father in the play “Mujhe Amrita Chahiye”
Gurmeet Jamwal has been adjudged as Best Actress for her role as Benare in “Kamosh Adalat Jaari Hai”. 2nd Best Actress award has gone to Sunaina Kumari for her role as Vasundhra in “Andhra Yatra”
Best Make up award has been bagged by Shammi Dhamir for the play “Urubhangam” & “Oedipus Rex”. Best costumes award has gone to “Urubhangam” and “Oedipus Rex” while Best Lights awarded has been given to “Oedipus Rex”
Award for Best Music has been given to “Urubhangam”, Best set to “Khamosh Adalat Jaari Hai”, 2nd Best set to “Oedipus Rex” and Best Child Artist to Kousar Chand Puri   for the play “Oedipus Rex”.
Consolation prize in Direction has gone to Vijay Goswami for the play “Kamosh Adalat Jaari”, Music to Tsewang Dorjee for the play “Rovmut Bhatt”, Costumes to Shiba & Mukulini Sethi for the “Kamosh Adalat Jaari Hai” and Make – up to Seema Bhardwaj for the play “Chitra”.
Certificates of Merit  have been announced to Kanav Sharma as Balram in the play “Urubhangam”, Nitin Babu as Bhim in the play “Urubhangam”, Niharika Sakshi as  Gandhari  in the play “Urubhangam”,  Sushmita Banerjee as  Draupdy in the play” Urubhangam”, Balwinder Singh as  Bhottnath in the play” Mahanagar  Ka Tahlua”, Meera Tapasvi  as “Chhoti Bahu” in the play “Mahanagar Ka  Tahlua”, Chandni Khatri as Aneet in the play “Terrorist  Di Premika”, T S  Premi as Gurnam in the play “Terrorist Di Premika”,  Anuroop Pathania as Daulat Rao in the play ” Andhar Yatra” Sunny Mujoo as  Jorr in the play” Rovmut Bhatta”,  Sandeep Verma as  Ravi in the play ” Ek Tuti Hui  Kursi”,  Vivek Sangotra as Aziz in the play LEK Tuti Hui Kursi”, Neha Lahotra as Chitra  in the play “Chittra”, Bharti Zaroo, as Mother in – Law in the play “LaL Ded”, Naina Bhagay as  Martha in the play “Arth Dosh”, Rakesh Mayus as  old man in the play ” Arth Dosh”, Neha Raina as  Neha in the play ” Tagore”, John Mohd Janu as Janu in the play  ” Tagore”,  Divankshi as “Amreta” in the play “Mujhe Amrita Chahea”
Sapna Soni as     Malti in the play “Chote Log”, Shammi Dhamir as    Kukki in the play “Chote Log”, Sushil Raina as Samant in the play “Khamosh Adalat Jaari Hai”, Soham Kashyap as   Ponkshe in the play “Khamosh Adalat Jaari Hai “, Manoj Bhatt as Sukhatme in “Khamosh Adalat Jaari Hai”, Sandeep Thakur as Oedipus in the play “Oedipus Rex” Aashima Dutta as Jocasta in the play “Oedipus Rex”.
The announcement in this regard was made by Dr Aziz Hajini, Secretary, J and K Academy of Art, Culture and Languages.
The 14 day Drama Festival was held from December 17, 2017 and concluded on January 10, 2018.  The adjudicators were Makhan Lal Saraf, Vijay Atri and Baljeet Singh.