Breaking News:

170 teams to vie for top honours in Red Bull Campus Cricket

Excelsior Sports Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 25:  After a spectacular season in 2016, Red Bull Campus Cricket returns to bowl over budding cricketers in the country. Taking the competition up one more notch, the global, T20 college cricket tournament has added two new cities to its roster and will witness the highest participation ever with 170 teams across 26 cities.
Commencing from February 27 to the first week of April, the Red Bull Campus Cricket city qualifiers will start simultaneously in Cochin and Hyderabad. Followed by Kolkata, Mumbai, Baroda, Ahmedabad, Pune, Nagpur, Indore and Goa in the West; along with Jalandhar, Delhi, Jaipur, Jammu, Dehradun, Chandigarh, Lucknow in the North; Chennai, Bangalore, Coimbatore, andVizag in South; and Kolkata, Guwahati, Ranchi, Bhubaneshwar, Patna, Jamshedpur in the East.
The winning college from each city will then proceed to the zonal finals. The top two teams from each zone will then compete in the National finals, where the teams will play in the knockout rounds of quarterfinals, semifinals and finals respectively.
The National winner will then represent India in the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Series Championship 2017.
Winners from India that have gone on to represent the country at the World Championships are Rizvi College, Mumbai; DAV College, Chandigarh; Swami Shraddhanand College, Delhi; and MMC College, Pune.
Red Bull Campus Cricket is the only global T20 cricket tournament for university cricket teams, serving as an international platform for young and budding cricketers to showcase their talent and hone their skills. The tournament is now in its sixth year.


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in sports news. Bookmark the permalink.